Musings about girlfriends and math phobia and we can do anything

Note: I had to wait for nearly a month for Sofia to return from Mexico and give her permission. God continues to give me a “Do Not Give Up” message.

20130428_152507I have a friend, Sofia, who is Mexican.

I love hearing her talk about her childhood in Mexico and I love her bubbly personality. She is a powerful prayer and an amazing story-teller and she is brilliant but she was never able to get her high school diploma and has been studying for the GED. She took it in January and passed every subject save math. The reasons for this will become ovbious. I will not post her story without her consent but Sofia posted the following on Facebook.

“Many years ago, I was told that there was something wrong with my brain, something like a trauma or so. I was told not to ever attempt to study Math, because of that “trauma” my brain couldn’t put together 2 plus 2. I took this comment to heart and decided not to go trough high school. Today, the curse was broken! I PASSED MATH! Yeeeeeeeeh! I just needed 410 points to pass and I got 510 wow! Look at me, look at me, he, he, he. I am getting my GED diploma. Yes, it was a very hard test (for me). A good friend from church (who happens to have a brilliant brain) prayed for me two months ago, and when she asked God to “rewire my brain” a bright light pup off on my right eye. Two nights ago I had a dream were God was whispering to my ear, telling me that I passed Math already. This morning, before I left for my test, my husband Isaias prayed for me, and when he asked God to come to my rescue giving me his understanding in algebra problems, that light pup off again, the same way it did last time. When I was doing my test, I encounter I very confusing question, and I spoke this words: “Dear Jesus, let me use your brain, please” and the answer came right after I finished praying. TO GOD BE THE GLORY! I am so happy, that I could run and dance through the streets of Pottstown! Trust always in God and he’ll give you the victory. Do not ever give up. Thanks to all who have been praying for me, I felt your love and I love you too!”

My words could take me in so many different directions but I want to focus on one thing, “Trust always in God and he’ll give you the victory. Do not ever give up.”

Beautiful words, I will not give up, I am glad you are my friend, and I can’t wait to see how God is going to use you with your amazing brilliant rewired brain.

Yes, you guessed who prayed the rewiring prayer and I am not as impressed with the aforementioned brain (mine not Sofia’s.)

Now, all I need do is wait for permission to post this.

Leave a Reply

Loura Shares A Story

One woman strives to teach and learn via creative storytelling using visual, written, and performing arts.

Baldscientist

Biology - Research - Neuroscience - Planaria - Pharmacology - Science - Writing - Education - Autism

Prone to wander...

Sporadic blogging about a myriad of topics

Opineaway

These words are mine, please opine!

Regina Galbick

Media & Technology. Education & Art. Community & Social Justice.

neuroecology

social neuroscience, decision-making, ecology, economics: thoughts from adam j calhoun

A limey's ramblings

Notes on life and maybe even something interesting, one day.

PhD(isabled)

What it's like doing a PhD with disability or chronic illness

Wide Open Ground

The Unfundamental Conversion

Homeschoolers Anonymous

A Project of Homeschool Alumni Reaching Out

The Upside Down World

~Online home of Rebecca Trotter; a mom, author, thinker, talker, teacher, Christian and odd duck . . .

Homeschool Planet

Keeping It Real ~ Homeschool Adventures and Other Tall Tales

Maura Mulcair

Musings and stories

Becoming Worldly

Thoughts of a former Quiverfull daughter who left the fundamentalist homeschooling lifestyle, got an education, and learned a different definition of "worldly."

Wide Open Ground

The Unfundamental Mission

WHEN THE ABUSER GOES TO WORK...

An employment law blog about workplace bullying, discrimination and abuse

Leah Hope

For Those Of Us Whispering. Screaming. Sharing. Rebuilding. Broken. Clinging. With Weary Hope.

