Almost isn’t Real

I found myself driving down Rt. 322 at exactly the wrong time yesterday and I went into water observing the person ahead of me successfully traversing the flooded road. The problem is I drive a mini cooper and it is about the smallest car on the road so I thank God I made it without shorting out the electrical systems of my car and then I faced a deeper flood and observed the people driving ahead of me and suddenly didn’t feel as though driving through that section of road was the smartest choice.

So I backed up and let the person behind me make her own choices. She went on ahead and stalled halfway through the flooded portion of road. I sat there long enough to see the firefighters start to rescue the poor woman who was trapped in her car and gingerly started to make a 180 degree turn. I say gingerly because, if you don’t know the road, there was a cliff to the right and the raging flooded Brandywine River to the right and a flooded section of road I had to traverse once again. 

The other side of Harmony Hill was flooded and the road was jammed back to Skelp Level Road so I took Shadyside which was mostly uphill but the rain was blinding and the road was flooded in spite of its elevation.

I ended up at Jessica and Mike’s house.

Glad almost isn’t real.

Glad for a daughter that took my unexpected visit in stride.

I had fun watching Jeopardy with them.

Am very glad for the sunshine and warm dry weather today.

Saying a little prayer for everyone whose real wasn’t an almost and hope today brings rest and healing.

Image

Leave a Reply

Loura Shares A Story

One woman strives to teach and learn via creative storytelling using visual, written, and performing arts.

Baldscientist

Biology - Research - Neuroscience - Planaria - Pharmacology - Science - Education - Autism

Prone to wander...

Sporadic blogging about a myriad of topics

Opineaway

These words are mine, please opine!

Regina Galbick

Media & Technology. Education & Art. Community & Social Justice.

neuroecology

social neuroscience, decision-making, ecology, economics: thoughts from adam j calhoun

A limey's ramblings

Notes on life and maybe even something interesting, one day.

PhD(isabled)

What it's like doing a PhD with disability or chronic illness

Wide Open Ground

The Unfundamental Conversion

Homeschoolers Anonymous

A Project of Homeschool Alumni Reaching Out

The Upside Down World

~Online home of Rebecca Trotter; a mom, author, thinker, talker, teacher, Christian and odd duck . . .

Homeschool Planet

Keeping It Real ~ Homeschool Adventures and Other Tall Tales

Maura Mulcair

Musings and stories

Becoming Worldly

Thoughts of a former Quiverfull daughter who left the fundamentalist homeschooling lifestyle, got an education, and learned a different definition of "worldly."

Wide Open Ground

The Unfundamental Mission

WHEN THE ABUSER GOES TO WORK...

An employment law blog about workplace bullying, discrimination and abuse

Leah Hope

For Those Of Us Whispering. Screaming. Sharing. Rebuilding. Broken. Clinging. With Weary Hope.

