Live Long and Prosper (And you did, Leonard Nimoy)

This might age me but among my earlier memories was watching the original Star Trek series with my dad.

When they were new.

The producers thought we would swoon over Captain Kirk and I’m sure some of us did but Mr. Spock was my first crush.

The brain is, after all, the largest sex organ we have.

Leonard Nimoy famously wrote a book called “I am not Spock,” followed by another book called “I am Spock.” By that time, I had a couple of babies and didn’t have time to actually read the books but I think I get the jist of what he was saying. There is a distinction between an actor and the character he or she is playing and a good actor lives in fear of being typecast into a single archetype character but, in another sense, Nimoy was given a lot of artistic freedom to develop Spock into the complex, conflicted outsider making insightful observations of human behavior and I, for one, thank him for bringing Mr. Spock into existence and allowing him to slowly and intelligently get in touch with his humanity over the lifetime we saw him at his station on the bridge of the USS Enterprise.

When I die, I want Amazing Grace played at my memorial, preferably with bagpipes.

I have been to a couple of memorials that featured this the most recent was Dr. Woodruff’s memorial. Dr. Woodruff was a well-loved and respected  Biology professor that helped me and served as a mentor in my undergrad and graduate career at West Chester University. I teared up and remembered the end of Star Trek 2, The Wrath of Khan.  Someone told me that that was Dr. Woodruff’s intention.  It will be mine as well.

=/\= Peace and Long Life, Mr. Spock

 

 

Leave a Reply

Loura Shares A Story

One woman strives to teach and learn via creative storytelling using visual, written, and performing arts.

Baldscientist

Biology - Research - Neuroscience - Planaria - Pharmacology - Science - Writing - Education - Autism

Prone to wander...

Sporadic blogging about a myriad of topics

Opineaway

These words are mine, please opine!

Regina Galbick

Media & Technology. Education & Art. Community & Social Justice.

neuroecology

social neuroscience, decision-making, ecology, economics: thoughts from adam j calhoun

A limey's ramblings

Notes on life and maybe even something interesting, one day.

PhD(isabled)

What it's like doing a PhD with disability or chronic illness

Wide Open Ground

The Unfundamental Conversion

Homeschoolers Anonymous

A Project of Homeschool Alumni Reaching Out

The Upside Down World

~Online home of Rebecca Trotter; a mom, author, thinker, talker, teacher, Christian and odd duck . . .

Homeschool Planet

Keeping It Real ~ Homeschool Adventures and Other Tall Tales

Maura Mulcair

Musings and stories

Becoming Worldly

Thoughts of a former Quiverfull daughter who left the fundamentalist homeschooling lifestyle, got an education, and learned a different definition of "worldly."

Wide Open Ground

The Unfundamental Mission

WHEN THE ABUSER GOES TO WORK...

An employment law blog about workplace bullying, discrimination and abuse

Leah Hope

For Those Of Us Whispering. Screaming. Sharing. Rebuilding. Broken. Clinging. With Weary Hope.

